Zimmer Club Photo Gallery

Home Calendar Photo Gallery Event Registration Links Youth





Created by Flash Slideshow Maker

Order the full version now to remove the software logo at the end of slideshow

Annual Huck Finn Fishing Tournament held in Staten Island's Willowbrook Park

 By Staten Island Advance
on July 04, 2013 at 4:00 PM, updated July 04, 2013 at 6:34 PM

More than 70 children showed up at Willowbrook Park Thursday morning for the 84th  annual Huck Finn/Becky Thatcher Fishing and Costume Contest hosted by the Andrew E. Zimmer Fish and Game Protective Association.

The contest is based on Mark Twain's famous novel, "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn," and features old-fashioned bamboo fishing rods, 19th century garb and plenty of excitement.


Staten Island's 85th Annual Huck Finn Fishing Tournament and Costume Contest The Zimmer Club had its 85th Annual Huck Finn Fishing Tournament and Costume Contest, at the Willowbrook Park pond, on Thursday, July 4, 2013.
Zimmer Club organizers say they host the Huck Finn/Becky Thatcher contest every year to teach local youths about fishing, Twain's literature and how to sit back, relax, and enjoy a temporary time warp to simpler days.

The club, in addition to hosting the free competitions, provides youth conservation programs and offers hunter safety classes for aspiring sportsmen. It perpetuates the values of Andrew E. Zimmer, a former local sheriff, environmentalist and conservationist, who founded the Island club in 1926.

Here is a list of the day's winners:

Boys: First fish caught, first place, Anthony Catanzaro
Largest fish caught: first place, Christian Sanford; second place, Ryan Clinton
Most fish caught: First place, Scott Hightower

In the girls fishing contest, first fish caught, first place, Meghan Rothmubd
Largest fish caught: first place, Guliana Esposito
Most fish caught: first place,  Adrianna Catanzaro

Costume contest:
Huck Finn, first place, Joseph Fareri; second place, Johnathon Fareri; third place, AJ Harris; fourth place, Mason Burkhart.

Becky Thatcher: First place, Madison Burkhart; second place, Mackenzie Burkhart; third place, Stella McDermott.